IRG PHENICS CNRS International Research Group

PHENICS is acting as a major network of cooperation on photochromism gathering research teams from China, France, Germany, Japan and Russia.

PHoto-switchablE orgaNIC molecular systems & deviceS

12th Phenics International Network Symposium

Phenics Symposium will be held right after the 28th International Conference on Photochemistry ICP at the Faculty of Chemistry of Strasbourg (city center, 15 minutes by tramway from ICP) in the afternoon of Friday July 21st, and a dinner is scheduled in the evening of 21st.

The International Research Group on PHoto-switchablE orgaNIC molecular systems & deviceS (IRG PHENICS) was a network (2006-2015) of research groups working on (mainly organic) photochromism, and it gathered members from China, Germany, Japan and Russia.

This network has been organizing meetings annually since 2006. The 12th PHENICS International Network Symposium (21st July, 2017) will be organized consecutively to the 28th International Conference on Photochemistry (16th – 21st July 2017) in Strasbourg. We thus expect participants not only from the network, but also from a wider scientific community.

The meeting will consist of oral presentations (about 15-20 talks) of not only established professors but also of young researchers (Ph.D. course students, Post Doctorates or assistant professors) from 14:00 to 18:00, 21st July. Topics will be related, not only, but mainly to the following aspects:

Elaboration of new photochromic molecules and materials
Mechanisms deciphering of photochromic systems
Effects related to photochromism
Nanoscale photochromism
Applications of photochromism in optoelectronic systems, in biology, and other fields


The symposium will be hosted at the Faculty of Chemistry of Strasbourg, Fischer Amphi (1 rue Blaise Pascal).


The Symposium will start on 21st (Friday) at 13:30, and end same day at 18:30.

13:30–13:50 Registration Opening & Welcome address

13:50–14:00 Opening & Welcome address

14:00–16:00 Session 1 8-12 talks of 15-10 minutes

16:00–16:30 Coffee break & Scientific Discussion

16:30–18:00 Session 2 6-9 talks of 15-10 minutes

18:00–18:30 Concluding remarks

19:00–22:30 Dinner

Registration & Abstract submission

Deadline for registration and oral abstract submission is extended to 23rd June 2017.

For registration and abstract submission, send an email with your abstract (abstract template is given below) and if you will attend the banquet at:

Abstract template

.rtf template files can be downloaded


• Chair: Pascal Didier (Univ. Strasbourg)
• Co-Chair & Co-Secretary General: Michel Sliwa (Univ. Lille)
• Co-Chair: Jérémie Léonard (Univ. Strasbourg)
• Co-Chair: Stefan Haacke (Univ. Strasbourg)
• Co-Chair: Paolo Samori (Univ. Strasbourg)
• Co-Chair: Christophe Coudret (Univ. Toulouse)
• Co-Chair: Eléna Ishow(Univ. Nantes)
• Co-Chair: Jean-Claude Micheau (Univ. Toulouse)
• Co-Chair: Pei Yu (Univ. Paris-Sud)

IRG PHENICS Coordinators

• Sergey M. Aldoshin (IPCP RAS Chernogolovska Moscow – Russia)
• Stefan Hecht (Humbold Universität zu Berlin – Germany)
• Keitaro Nakatani (ENS Cachan – France)
• Jianzhang Zhao (Dalian University of Technology – China)
• Yasushi Yokoyama (Yokohama National University – Japan)